Ready to publish content

Ready to publish content is content that has been thoroughly reviewed and is waiting to be published to your live chatbot.

Content at this stage can't be edited: if you make changes, the content will automatically be moved back to draft. Publishers and Admins can then move the content back to ready to publish.

Chatbot Experience settings

When you change your chatbot Experience settings, they are automatically sent to ready to publish. These changes can't be sent back to ready to review or draft and must be published with the next version of your chatbot. 

You can view all your changes that are ready to publish using the Ready to Publish section of Versions.

Each change is displayed as its own entry with:

  • An icon indicating the type of change, such as a passage, question, script or setting.
  • The name of the content item that has been changed, such as the passage name or script name.
  • Who made the change and when.
  • The conversation the content item is located in, if applicable.

Changes are coded by colour:

  • Green: new content or settings to be added to your chatbot.
  • Blue: existing content or settings that have been changed since the last published version.
  • Red: existing content or settings that will be removed from your published chatbot.

Who can change ready to publish content?

Only Publishers and Admins can publish content that is ready to publish or move it back to ready to review or draft. Editors can only view the list of changes and edit the review notes. However, if anyone makes changes to the content, it will automatically be moved back to draft.

Filter the list of changes

If you have a lengthy list of changes, you can show only specific types of changes using the Filter drop-down. Filter the changes to:

  • Conversation-level changes, such as making a conversation resumable.
  • Passage content changes.
  • Question training phrase or matching-passage changes.
  • Notification changes.
  • Webview changes.
  • Script changes.
  • Settings changes.

See the change in context

If you want to go to the passage, conversation, or other area of the platform where the change was made, click the launch icon on the right side of the bar. The relevant content will open in a new tab.

Add review notes

You can view or add review notes to a change. Review notes are visible to your whole team and stay with a change as it goes through the review process. They're great for discussion on changes that need to be made to the content or highlighting where small changes have been made for a faster review. Passages and their linked questions share the same note.

To add a review note:

  1. Click the arrow on the right of the change.
  2. Type your note in the text field.
  3. Click the tick.

You can also view and edit review notes for Passages in the Passage screen by clicking the comment icon. 

Expand all the review notes at once

If you want to add review notes to all your changes, you can click the Select All checkbox at the top of the changes list, and then the double-arrows beside it to expand all your changes.

Publish the changes

If you have a Publisher or Admin role in your team, you can select changes to publish to your live chatbot. Either:

  • Select changes individually using the checkbox on the right.
  • Select all changes in the current view using the checkbox at the top of the list.

When you click Publish, your changes are validated to check for missing content. If the validation tests pass, your changes are published as your next chatbot version, and appear in the Published section. If there are validation errors, you must resolve these errors before you can publish your changes. See Resolve validation errors.

Experience settings changes are automatically published with the next version

When you make changes to your chatbot Experience settings, these changes are sent straight to the Ready to publish stage. When you are publishing changes, these settings changes are automatically selected, and must be included in your next published chatbot version.

Some changes are part of a group, and have to stay together. When you select a change that is part of a group, all of the related changes are also automatically selected:

  • Settings changes are automatically preselected.
  • Selecting an unpublished question change also selects the unpublished passage and conversation changes the question belongs to.

Grouped changes must all progress through your review process together.

The changes you publish will be grouped into a version of your chatbot and shown in the Publish section.

Watch for dependencies

Some changes you make in a chatbot will have several change entries that should be published together. For example:

  • Moving a passage from one conversation to another will create one change in the conversation where the passage was removed, and another change in the conversation the passage was added to.
  • Creating a notification (or webview or script) that is used in a passage will create one change for the notification, and another change for the passage where you used it. 

These changes are not grouped in Versions. Make sure you check for dependent changes, and publish or regress them together, to avoid duplicate or missing chatbot content. 

Resolve validation errors

The inGenious AI platform validates your selected changes before creating a new version to publish. Validation looks for missing content, to help prevent missing links creating a poor chatbot experience. Content is usually missing because it hasn't been progressed in the review with other content that uses it. For example:

  • A passage named Open-Webview contains a webview that leads a user to a new passage named After-Webview. If you try to publish the Open-Webview passage without also publishing After-Webview, it will result in a validation error.
  • A passage named Get-Postcode has an expected user response of Save Info, and leads into a new passage named After-Postcode. If you try to publish the Get-Postcode passage without also publishing the After-Postcode passage, it will result in a validation error.
  • You have deleted two passages, where the first passage leads into the second passage. If you try to publish only the deletion of the second passage, without also publishing the deletion of the first passage, it will result in a validation error.
  • A passage uses a webview, script or notification that has not been published and is not included in your selected changes. Trying to publish that passage will result in a validation error.
  • A passage that has a webview, script or expected user response that uses a follow on passage that has not been published and is not included in your selected changes or has been deleted, will result in a validation error.

  • A new conversation-specific Catch-All passage has not been published and is not included in your selected changes. Trying to publish the settings changes without the new passage will result in a validation error.

Click a validation error to see the issue in context:

  • If the error is a passage with missing content, such as an unpublished or deleted webview, script, or notification, the context will show you the affected passage.
  • If the error is a missing passage, relating to a deleted or unpublished follow on passage for a webview, script or expected user response, the context will show you the affected passage containing the webview, script or expected user response.
  • If the error is a notification, that relates to an unpublished or deleted follow on passage, the context will show you the affected notification.
  • If the error is a setting that relates to an unpublished or deleted passage, the context will show you the relevant settings page.
  • If the error is a passage or other content that has been deleted, the context will show you the deletion in the review stage.

Resolve the issues and try to publish your selected changes again.

Entry points not included

Entry points are not included in your reviews and versions. If you configure an entry point with an unpublished passage, you will not see a validation error.

Send changes back to draft or ready for review

If you are a Publisher or an Admin, you can move changes back to draft or ready for review if you think they need further work.

To send changes back to draft or ready for review:

  1. Select the changes you want to move.
  2. Use the arrow next to the Publish button to select Back to Draft or Back to Review.
  3. Press Back to Draft.

Keep dependent changes together

Remember to keep dependent changes together when you're sending changes back to draft or review.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.