Versions

A version is a snapshot of your chatbot's conversations, passages, scripts, webviews, stories, and notifications. You can deploy newer or older versions of your chatbot as you need.

The Versions page is also where you progress changes to your chatbot content through the review stages, to ensure any changes are thoroughly reviewed before being published to your live chatbot.

Publishing changes to your chatbot

When you make changes to your chatbot, whether it's changing the content of a passage, updating a script, or changing your chatbot's settings (except General and Experience settings), those changes all need to be reviewed before they can go live.

To ensure changes are reviewed thoroughly and efficiently, content has a review state. This keeps track of whether something is a brand new change, or something that has been vetted and is ready to go live. There are four review stages in the inGenious AI platform that changes progress through:

  • Draft: All new content and new changes start in draft. This content is still being developed, is likely to change, and should not be reviewed yet.
  • Ready to review: When you've finished developing your content, move it to ready to review. Your Publisher or Admin will review the content and either send it back to draft for further work or progress it to ready to publish
  • Ready to publish: Once content has been reviewed and approved, it is ready to publish. This content is waiting to be included in the next published version of your chatbot. If you make any changes to content that is ready to publish, you will need to select what stage you want to save it to. 
  • Published: This content is currently live in your chatbot.

Changes may move back and forth between draft, ready to review and ready to publish as needed. The number of changes your chatbot has in each review state is displayed at the top of the platform.

Changes to settings don't appear in drafts or ready to review

Some changes, such as changes to your chatbot's Experience settings, don't go through a draft or ready to review state. When you make those changes in your chatbot, they will immediately appear in the ready to publish state and must be published with the next chatbot version. Changes to your chatbot's General settings are immediately published, and do not go through review.

Who can review and publish changes

Your user role in your team determines what you can do when it comes to chatbot changes. Generally, Editors can make changes in draft and ready to review content, but are restricted from making changes once content is in a ready to publish state, and from publishing chatbot versions.

  Editors Publishers or Admins
View or edit passage notes
Create new content in draft

Create a draft change of published content

Change the content or review state of draft content

Set a change from draft to ready to review
Set a change from ready to review back to draft
Change the content or review state of ready to review content

Set a change as ready to publish -
Change the content or review state of ready to publish content

Publish a version -

For more information on user roles, see Teams and user roles.

Reviewing your content

Each stage in the review process has its own section in Versions:

Follow the above links for more information on each review stage.

Publishing a chatbot version

You publish a version by either:

  • Selecting ready to publish changes to make live.
  • Republishing a previous chatbot version.

For more information, see Published versions.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 2 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.