Delete a variable to remove it from your chatbot. When you delete a variable, the variable is immediately removed from your chatbot content creation:
- Content creators can't add the variable to the chatbot content.
- If the variable has been used in your chatbot content, the placeholder chip is replaced with a deleted chip. Click the chip to remove it from the content.
Deleted chips are not visible to your chatbot users and are not shown in Testbot.
Are you sure?
Deleted variables can't be undeleted. If you create a new variable with the same name as the deleted one, it will be treated as a new variable, not replace the deleted one.
The deleted variable will remain in your published chatbot until you publish the change. If the variable is still used by some passages when you publish the change, those passages are displayed as validation errors. If you publish the change without removing the variable from those passages, the chatbot uses an an empty value for the variable.
Variables may also be used by your chatbot scripts. If you delete a variable that a script uses, the script will not report a validation error when publishing the change. Check your chatbot scripts carefully before deleting variables.
Delete a variable
- Open the team and chatbot you want to work with.
- Click Variables in the left navigation.
- Click the menu next to the variable you want to delete.
- Click Delete.