All passages have a review state, which tracks whether the passage has been changed from the published version, and whether those changes have been reviewed. Passages can be in draft, ready to review, ready to publish and published.
When you save changes to a passage that is in draft or ready to review, the passage stays in the same review state it was before unless you choose another state. When you make changes to a passage that is published or ready to publish, the passage is automatically moved to draft.
You can see a passage's review state by the icon next to the passage name:
|Draft. Changes can be made and saved to draft, ready to review and ready to publish.|
|Ready to review. Changes can be made and saved to draft, ready to review and ready to publish.|
|Ready to publish. Making changes will move the passage to draft.|
|Published. Making changes will move the passage to draft.|
Sometimes you'll want to send the passage to a different review state. For example: if you've decided a passage in review needs major changes you might want to save it back to draft, or you've addressed the typo your reviewer picked up and you want to make the passage ready to publish.
You can change the passage's review state when you save it. The review states you can select depend on the user role you have within your team: if you can set changes as ready to publish in the Version page, you can save a passage as ready to publish.
You can see what state you're about to save the passage in by checking the icon next to the save button.
Why can't I set it to published?
Changes to your chatbot can only be published by creating a new version of the chatbot. You can't set a passage status to publish directly. For more information on publishing chatbot content, see Versions.
To change the review state of a passage:
- Click the arrow next to the Save button and select the review status.
- Click Save.
I can't see the ready to publish option
Your user role in your team determines whether you can review and publish chatbot content. If you don't have permission to review drafts or publish content, you won't see those options. See Team and user roles for more details.
See Versions for more information on reviewing chatbot content.